Wizard Settings

Wizard settings are those that affect the behaviour of the whole wizard. You’ll find them in the first settings block in your “Wizard” admin panel.

Required

When disabled, users see a “Maybe Later” link in the footer of the first step of the wizard. If they click the link they’ll be taken to the forum homepage.

Screenshot at Apr 14 09-41-45

Signup

When enabled, users are automatically redirected to the wizard after they create an account (after signing up or accepting an invite).

Users will not be redirected after signup if they are:

  • not permitted to access the wizard (see “Permitted” below); or
  • if custom wizards are disabled; or
  • if the wizard no longer exists; or
  • if “Signup” is disabled

Multiple

When enabled, users can complete the wizard multiple times. If disabled, users will see this message if they try to complete the wizard again.

If they click the “Return to {site name}” button, they are redirected to the forum homepage.

Prompt

When enabled, users will see a global banner prompting them to complete the wizard. When a user completes the wizard, the banner will no longer show for that user.

To edit the text of this banner, customise the wizard.complete_custom text.

Time

When enabled, users will be automatically redirected to the wizard on the specified date, at the specified time. If the user is not on the forum at the time, they will be redirected the next time they visit the forum.

Users will not be redirected at the specified time, or the next time they visit the forum after the specified time, if they are:

  • not permitted to access the wizard (see “Permitted” below); or
  • if custom wizards are disabled; or
  • if the wizard no longer exists; or
  • if “Time” is disabled

Permitted

Use Permitted to restrict which users can access the wizard (and automatically redirected to the wizard via the Signup or Time settings).

Permitted is a conditional field with two types:

  • Assignment (“Set”): A defined list of user groups who have access
  • Validation (“Ensure”): A list of user field conditions

Permitted is cumulative. All seperate conditions must pass for the user to have access.

Advanced

As with all advanced settings, be careful when using these settings. Using them may effect the normal functioning of the wizard.

  • Save. When disabled, the custom wizard will not save submissions
  • Restart. When enabled, partial progress through a wizard will cleared each time the user visits it.
  • Resume. If a user has an incomplete subsmission when they visit the wizard they will be asked if they want to resume that submission or start again, and delete their incomplete submission.

When customizing the the text in the Prompt is it possible to include the user’s name? Like “Hey Angus, it’s time to update your profile!” I tried a few things that didn’t work and thought I’d ask.

Thanks!

1 Like

I have signup checked but I don’t think it’s being triggered.

My user account creation is first done in WordPress, and then WordPress users come to discourse using that login. (I’m doing this through the WordPress Discourse plugin, etc)

Would that prevent this signup action from running?

A post was split to a new topic: No access messages aren’t working

Unfortunately not. Would need to add that as a new feature.

Yes. The Signup wizard setting does not currently work if the account is created in Wordpress and login to Discourse is via SSO. I’ll make a note about that above.

Could you make a feature request for this one actually? That would help me keep track of it.

There’s also this known issue with the custom wizard plugin and Wordpress SSO

I’m not sure that this is working right now. My users are describing a ‘blank page’ instead and it is taking a bit to test it properly (as @admins seem to be able to submit multiple times regardless!)

What does this do?

image

You’ve been busy adding stuff…

Yes we have! Many more changes coming actually. Thanks for the prompt on this, I’ve added a description

  • Resume. If a user has an incomplete subsmission when they visit the wizard they will be asked if they want to resume that submission or start again, and delete their incomplete submission.
1 Like